Zookeeper Associations

Zoo and Aquarium Association (ZAA) http://www.zooaquarium.org.au/

International Congress on Zookeeping www.iczoo.org

American Association of Zoo Keepers  www.aazk.org

Association of British Wild Animal Keepers www.abwak.co.uk

International Marine Animal Trainers Association  www.imata.org

International Association of Avian Trainers and Educators www.iaate.org

 

 Australian Legislation

 Exhibited Animals Protection Act NSW

http://www.agric.nsw.gov.au/reader/aw-exhibited

AQIS

http://www.affa.gov.au/content/output.cfm?ObjectID=3E48F86-AA1A-11A1-B6300060B0AA00014&contType=outputs&subdisplay=7

Department Environment & Heritage

http://www.deh.gov.au/about/index.html

 

Animal Management

Species360 www.species360.org

World Conservation Union  www.iucn.org

IUCN/SSC Guidelines for Re-introductions

www.iucn.org/themes/ssc/pubs/policy/reinte.htm

Species Survival Commission of the IUCN  www.iucn.org/themes/ssc

Zoological Information Management System www.zims.org

World Organisation for Animal Health www.oie.int

World Zoo and Conservation Strategy www.waza.org

 

Enrichment

 Aussie Dog Zoo enrichment devices http://www.aussiedog.com.au

The Shape of Enrichment http://www.enrichment.org/

 

 Exhibit Design

 ZooLex  www.zoolex.org

 

 Publishers

 Andrew Isles Natural History Books www.AndrewIsles.com

CSIRO Publishing  www.publish.csiro.au

 

 Animal Care Products

Animal Care and Equipment Services (ACES) www.animalcare.com.au

 

Animal Transport Companies and Information

International Air Transport Association www.iata.org

Dogtainers www.dogtainers.com.au

 

 Educational Courses and Training Resources

Animals on Film  www.animalsonfilm.com

Natural Encounters Inc.  www.naturalencounters.com

Richmond Institute of TAFE NSW

http://www.tafensw.edu.au/howex/servlet/Course?Command=GetCollegeCourses&VLOCATION=389+Richmond&VINSTITUTE=162

Box Hill TAFE Victoria http://www.bhtafe.edu.au/Courses/CAZ31.htm

Charles Sturt University

http://www.csu.edu.au/courses/undergraduate/animal_science/

http://www.csu.edu.au/courses/postgraduate/captive_vertebrate_management/

Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust’s International Training Centre  www.durrellwildlife.org

Panthera International Wildlife Study Tours www.pantherainternational.com.au

RAW Wildlife Encounters www.rawildlife.com.au

 

Other Good Reference Sites

 Australian Museum  www.austmus.gov.au

Queensland Museum www.qm.qld.gov.au

Melbourne Museum  www.melbourne.museum.vic.gov.au

South Australian Museum www.samuseum.sa.gov.au

Western Australian Museum www.museum.wa.gov.au

CITES www.cites.org

Earthwatch www.earthwatch.org

Landcare Australia www.landcareaustralia.com.au

 

Conservation sites

Turtle Survival Alliance http://www.turtlesurvival.org/

Richmond Birdwing Conservation Network http://www.richmondbirdwing.org.au/

Birdlife International (Kagu) http://www.birdlife.org/pacific/news/putting-kagu-map

Kea Conservation Trust http://www.keaconservation.co.nz/

Cassowary Recovery Team http://cassowaryrecoveryteam.org/category/cassowary-research/

Save the Bilby Fund http://www.savethebilbyfund.com/

Devil Ark http://www.devilark.com.au/

Painted Dog Conservation  www.painteddogconservation.iinet.net.au

Rhinos SOS Rhino  www.sosrhino.org

Numbat Conservation www.numbat.org.au/

Tenkile Conservation Alliance in PNG www.tenkile.com